Pitt Releases 2012-13 Basketball Schedule

"You see, John, if we schedule Valparaiso and Lehigh, our RPI can actually be decent come Selection Sunday."

Today is a day that many thought would never come. Earlier this morning, the BIG EAST announced that at Noon today, the complete conference schedule was going to be released. This was followed up by Ray Fittipaldo announcing that Pitt would be releasing it's non-conference schedule shortly after. Well, high noon has arrived, and the schedules were indeed released as promised.

A brief analysis of the Panther's non-conference schedule provides little excitement, particularly at home. Valparaiso, rumored to be a late home addition, did not make the cut. On a neutral court (Madison Square Garden), the potential exists for match-ups against Kansas State, Michigan, and Virginia...all of which could boost the Panthers' strength of schedule.

So what took so long to put together a schedule that many will say lacks pizzazz? Well, there are several reasons. One reason was that the Panthers we're left scrambling to fill an open home date after the BIG EAST announced that Pitt would not be taking part in the BIG EAST/SEC challenge, despite leading them to believe that they would be. The second, and key reason for the delay, is that the NIT is still looking for a 16th participant for it's pre-season tournament as of 2 days ago. It is unknown at this time if that participant has been selected, but since they would be playing out of the Kansas City pod, it is unlikely to effect the Panthers schedule.

Check out the full schedule after the jump.

Friday, Oct. 12

MIDNIGHT MADNESS EVENT

Cathedral of Learning

9 p.m.

TBA

BLUE-GOLD SCRIMMAGE

Petersen Events Center

TBA

TBA

FAN FEST/MAGGIE DIXON HEART

Petersen Events Center

TBA

HEALTH FAIR

Friday, Oct. 26

INDIANA, Pa. (Exh.)

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Friday, Nov. 2

HAWAII-HILO (Exh.)

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Friday, Nov. 9

MOUNT ST. MARY’S

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Preseason NIT (Pittsburgh, Pa.)

*Monday, Nov. 12

TBA

Petersen Events Center

TBA

*Tuesday, Nov. 13

TBA

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Saturday, Nov. 17

OAKLAND

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Preseason NIT (New York, N.Y.)

*Wednesday, Nov. 21

Semifinal (ESPN2/ESPNU)

TBA-Madison Square Garden

TBA

*Friday, Nov. 23

Championship/Consolation (ESPN)

TBA-Madison Square Garden

TBA

Host schools: Pitt, Michigan, Virginia, Kansas State

(*Note: Pitt must win in order to advance to New York. If it does not advance, it will host two Preseason NIT games

on both Monday, Nov. 19 and Tuesday, Nov. 20 at the Petersen Events Center)

Tuesday, Nov. 27

HOWARD

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Saturday, Dec. 1

DETROIT

Petersen Events Center

TBA

City Game (Pittsburgh, Pa.)

Wednesday, Dec. 5

vs. Duquesne

Consol Energy Center

TBA

Saturday, Dec. 8

NORTH FLORIDA

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Saturday, Dec. 15

BETHUNE-COOKMAN

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Wednesday, Dec. 19

DELAWARE STATE

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Sunday, Dec. 23

KENNESAW STATE

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Monday, Dec. 31

*CINCINNATI (ESPN2)

Petersen Events Center

Noon

Saturday, Jan. 5

at *Rutgers (ESPN2)

Piscataway, N.J./RAC

11 a.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 8

at *Georgetown (ESPNU)

Washington, D.C./Verizon Center

9 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 12

*MARQUETTE (ESPNU)

Petersen Events Center

Noon

Wednesday, Jan. 16

at *Villanova (ESPNU)

TBA

7 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 19

*CONNECTICUT (ESPN2)

Petersen Events Center

Noon

Tuesday, Jan. 22

at *Providence (ESPN2)

Providence, R.I./Dunkin Donuts Center

7 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 26

*DEPAUL

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Monday, Jan. 28

at *Louisville (ESPN)

Louisville, Ky./KFC Yum! Center

7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 2

*SYRACUSE (ESPN)

Petersen Events Center

Noon

Monday, Feb. 4

*SETON HALL (ESPNU)

Petersen Events Center

9 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 9

at *Cincinnati (ESPN/ESPN2)

Cincinnati, Ohio/Fifth Third Arena

TBA

Saturday, Feb. 16

at *Marquette (CBS)

Milwaukee, Wis./Bradley Center

1 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 18

*NOTRE DAME (ESPN)

Petersen Events Center

7 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 24

at *St. John’s

New York, N.Y./Madison Square Garden

TBA

Wednesday, Feb. 27

*SOUTH FLORIDA

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Sunday, March 3

*VILLANOVA

Petersen Events Center

TBA

Saturday, March 9

at *DePaul

Rosemont, Ill./AllState Arena

TBA

Tue.-Sat., March 12-16

at Big East Championship (ESPN)

New York, N.Y./MSG

TBA

March 21-24

NCAA Second & Third Rounds (CBS-plus)

TBA

TBA

March 28-31

NCAA Regionals (CBS-plus)

TBA

TBA

April 6 and 8

NCAA Final Four (CBS-plus)

Atlanta, Ga./Georgia Dome

TBA

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Cardiac Hill

You must be a member of Cardiac Hill to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Cardiac Hill. You should read them.

Join Cardiac Hill

You must be a member of Cardiac Hill to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Cardiac Hill. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker