clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Countdown: 11 Days until the ACC

Soon, the ACC's new membership will bring 21 additional football championships to their collective ten...11 of which will belong to a single member.

Jonathan Daniel

The current membership of the ACC claim a collective ten football national championships. Miami accounts for half of those, Florida State claims two, and Boston College, Clemson, and Maryland claim one championship each. Comparatively, the SEC can claim seven national championships...and that is in the last seven years alone. But fear not, fans of the ACC, the cavalry is on the way. In just 11 days, the conference's newest members will bring an additional 21 claimed national championships into the mix.

Eleven of those incoming championships belong to the Fighting Irish of Notre Dame. Much like Pitt, a majority of those came before most of our parents were even born. The legendary Knute Rockne earned three between 1924 and 1930. Frank Leahy would add four additional championships in the 1940s. The Irish would then go on a 16 year hiatus before beginning a cycle where they would win a championship every 11 years. During this cycle, those championships also happened to come in the current coach's third season. Ara Parseghian claimed his first of two in 1966 (his second came in 1973), Dan Devine in 1977, and Lou Holtz in 1988. Bob Davie had a chance to continue that tradition in his third season in 1999, but instead finished with a 5-7 record that included a loss at Pitt in the final game at Pitt Stadium.

This fall, Davie will make his first trip back to Pittsburgh since that game when his New Mexico Lobos travel to Heinz Field on September 14th.

Disclaimer: Yes, Notre Dame is not a football member in the ACC...but in a 50 day countdown, there may be the occasional reach. This is one of those days.