clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jordan Addison placed on Biletnikoff Award watch list

The Pitt wide receiver amassed 666 yards and four touchdowns as a true freshman during the 2020 season

NCAA Football: Syracuse at Pittsburgh Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

Pitt wide receiver Jordan Addison was placed on the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award on Thursday morning. The award is distributed by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation on an annual basis and has existed since 1994. The award is intended to recognize the best receiver at the FBS level of college football.

The 6’0”, 170-pound receiver is one of eight ACC players included on the watch list. The other seven are Emeka Emezie of NC State, Zay Flowers of Boston College, Mike Harley of Miami, Taj Harris of Syracuse, Billy Kemp IV of Virginia, Jaquarii Roberson of Wake Forest and Justyn Ross of Clemson.

With its eight watch list honorees, the ACC is tied with the Big Ten for most players included on the list. The Big 12 had the second-highest number, with six, while the SEC and Pac 12 had five each, which was the same number as the American. But perhaps the biggest surprise was that Nevada led all schools by placing three of its players on the 2021 watch list.

Addison enjoyed a breakout season in 2020, amassing 666 yards and four touchdowns on 60 receptions and leading Pitt in each of the three categories. In addition, the Frederick, Maryland, native led all freshman receivers in the ACC in receiving yards, and his four scores ranked second among freshmen in the ACC.

As a result of his standout 2020 campaign, much is expected of Addison in 2021. Prior to the release of the Biletnikoff watch list, he also earned first-team preseason All-ACC honors from the Pro Football Network and was given plus-2,300 odds to win the 2021 Heisman Trophy by sportsbook My Bookie in January. Addison has also ascended to a leadership position on the team and represented Pitt at ACC media days with Kenny Pickett, Deslin Alexandre and Pitt head coach Pat Narduzzi.