clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jordan Addison given 100-1 Heisman odds for 2021

The Pitt receiver led the team with 666 yards and four scores on 60 catches in 2020

Pitt wide receiver Jordan Addison enjoyed a breakout year as a freshman in 2020, and as a result, he has found himself the subject of great expectations in 2021. And on Thursday, he was given 100-1 odds of winning the Heisman Trophy by BetOnline.

The odds are long, but they place Addison in good company, as Nevada quarterback Carson Strong and Boston College wide receiver Zay Flowers were given the same odds. At the moment, Addison also enjoys better odds than Nebraska quarterback Adrian Martinez, whose Heisman odds currently sit at 200-1.

Leading the way is Oklahoma quarterback Spencer Rattler, who has 5-1 odds, and behind him.are three ACC quarterbacks who could become strong contenders for the honor over the course of the season. That trio includes Clemson’s D.J. Uiagalelei and North Carolina’s Sam Howell, who both have 12-1 odds, as well as Miami’s D’Eriq King, who has a 22-1 shot.

Bridging the gap between the ACC’s top contenders and Addison are another set of quarterbacks, which includes McKenzie Milton of Florida State and Phil Jurkovec of Boston College. Milton’s odds sit at 33-1, while Jurkovec’s are a bit longer, at 66-1.

Addison was previously given 25-1 odds to win the Heisman in January, shortly after the conclusion of his freshman season. However, his odds were changed to 100-1 in July and held steady in September.

Last season, the Maryland-born receiver led Pitt in receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns, as he hauled in 60 catches, racked up 666 yards and scored four times. As a result, he was named a freshman All-American by multiple outlets and came in second in ACC Rookie of the Year voting.

If Addison were to win the Heisman Trophy, it would be a rare feat, as only four wide receivers have won the trophy since it was first awarded in 1935. That list includes Johnny Rodgers of Nebraska, who won in 1972; Tim Brown of Notre Dame, who won in 1987; Desmond Howard of Michigan, who won in 1991; and DeVonta Smith of Alabama, who took home the trophy last season.