clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Pitt fined by ACC for Pat Narduzzi's Virginia Tech comment

New, 31 comments
Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

Pitt head coach Pat Narduzzi was upset during the team's game against Virginia Tech as he felt the Hokies' receivers were pushing off during the game. His specific comment was that they "did a great job of pushing off all night."

That comment wasn't looked upon too kindly by the ACC and as a result, they fined the school $5,000.

Those comments paled in comparison to what Jimbo Fisher had to say after his Seminoles lost to Clemson this weekend and as such, Fisher earned his school a $20,000 fine.

The ACC's public policy states that teams cannot publicly criticize officiating and while Narduzzi didn't specifically mention the officials in that comment, he was indirectly talking about them, obviously. Coaches do have some recourse as they are allowed to discuss officiating with the league's offices. But the ACC doesn't want public criticism.

As I said after the game, Narduzzi is not really known to publicly come out and complain much about the officiating, so I do think there was probably some merit to his criticism. But at the end of the day, if you're in the ACC you play by the conference rules and that means that public comments against the referees are out of bounds.

Be sure to join Cardiac Hill's Facebook page and follow us on Twitter@PittPantherBlog for our regular updates on Pitt athletics. Follow the author and founder/editor @AnsonWhaley.