clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Darrin Hall set to play in Senior Bowl

The former Pitt running back was a late addition to the South roster

Georgia Tech v Pittsburgh Photo by Justin Berl/Getty Images

After putting on a standout performance in the East-West Shrine Bowl last weekend, former Pitt running back Darrin Hall has accepted an invitation to the Senior Bowl, which is regarded as the premier collegiate all-star game.

Hall has been added to the South roster, and he joins an all-Pennsylvania backfield that also includes Wes Hills of Slippery Rock and Ryquell Armstead of Temple. Hall will be Pitt’s lone representative in this year's game.

During the East-West Shrine Game, the former Panther led all rushers with 77 yards on 12 carries for an average of 6.4 yards per attempt. Much of that total came on a 39-yard run, which was the longest of the game. However, Hall’s number was called with relative frequency, and he also came up with a few impressive plays in the fourth quarter.

In 2018, Hall earned third-team All-ACC honors after amassing 1,144 yards and 10 touchdowns over 14 games. He ranked second on the team in rushing yardage, as Qadree Ollison led the way with 1,213 yards and 11 touchdowns. However, the two formed a fierce thunder-and-lightning combo that gained Pitt national recognition and the nickname “RBU.”

The running back is the 63rd Pitt product to take part in the Senior Bowl, and he joins a long list of talented athletes that includes Adam Bisnowaty, T.J. Clemmings, Dorin Dickerson, Aaron Donald, Scott McKillop, Brian O’Neill and Nathan Peterman in the last decade alone. Five of those seven players are currently on NFL rosters, and each was selected in the draft.

Hall of Famers Dan Marino, Rickey Jackson and Curtis Martin also played in the Senior Bowl after distinguished careers at Pitt, and coincidentally, Marino may cross paths with Hall, as he is expected to be in attendance for the game to scout quarterbacks in an advisory role for the Miami Dolphins.

The Senior Bowl will be contested at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Alabama, this Saturday, and it will be broadcast on the NFL Network beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET.